Humble pie

I like to think I’m a pretty humble, unassuming guy and I think that makes being a writer a lot harder. Why? Well, at their core, writers are arrogant. 

  
Not that it’s a bad thing. In fact, for writers it’s important. A necessity. It just goes against everything I am. 
Let me explain. Writers are arrogant because:

1:) you’re writing something because you believe it’s good enough. You’re good enough. Your book that you’ve been toiling away on deserves to be published. It deserves to share the same shelf space with the greats. Who the hell do you think you are anyway?

2:) you’re writing something that people (even those who are not related to you) want to read. That whatever masterpiece you’re crafting will have some sort of value. 

If that’s not arrogant then I don’t know what is. I think that’s why I’m so bad at the self-promotion. I hate (really, really hate) that part of it. 

And as if on cue, here’s the shameless self-promotion part. Here’s The Medal and The New Millennials. Read, share, comment. 

Leave a Reply

