Hoopstad, an imaginary destination. 

     I wrote back in the first post, ‘lo these many weeks that The Medal was a sci-fi story, and I’m sure no one believed it. I’m about 130 pages in and there’s been no sign of anything resembling science fiction. In truth, it reads like contemporary fiction. It’s just the story of a family dealing with the loss of a loved one, and that’s it.

     The medal that Alex inherits from his father is really a MacGuffin. It’s sole purpose, as we’ve seen now is to propel our protagonist into the past and give him a chance to correct a mistake his father made during World War 2. 

     I love time travel stories. Always have and always will. This story feels like it could have been ripped from an episode of Quantum Leap. (It wasn’t!)

  
     Alex is sent to Nazi occupied Holland, presumably to save the lives of a Jewish family that had successfully hidden for the duration of the war.  They are summarily executed by a Nazi officer in a pique of rage while Alex’s father watched in horror.

     My problem is that World War 2 was a real thing. People really died. Horrible things happened to good people routinely. My story is fictional and I didn’t want to hijack any one’s true stories or impugn anyone’s reputation. So I invented Hoopstad. Hoopstad and all its inhabitants are imaginary. Their stories are imaginary too, but they have been inspired by true events. When we meet him, sturmbannfuhrer Erich Klaages is fictional too. 

     My intent when writing The Medal was that it not be construed as anything other than historical fiction. I’ve tried to keep the details as accurate as possible. I’ve done a lot of research but I’ve been know to make mistakes from time to time. Bottom line; read it. Enjoy it. Don’t expect anything more than entertainment (I hope)!

As always, new chapters for Running the Gauntlet and The Medal are posted. Don’t forget to vote! Until next week,

Wayne!

Leave a Reply

