Step outside your comfort zone!

I’ve mentioned earlier that I think the number one thing a writer needs to do is read. The reason for that is to immerse yourself in as many different types and styles of writing as possible from a wide array of writers. So if you usually enjoy sparkly vampire love stories, try reading some true crime non-fiction. 

  
The point here is to grow. Personally, I like reading. I normally tend to gravitate towards literary fiction, but I’ll try anything. 

The same is true for your writing. Expand your horizons! All the great writers are doing it. JK Rowling went from Harry Potter to detective stories. If you haven’t read them yet, check out the Cormoran Strike novels under her pen name, Robert Galbraith . They are amongst my favourite books out there right now. 

Another favourite, Margaret Atwood, is writing a graphic novel. One of my favourite writers in one of my favourite mediums? Yes please!

There are plenty of other things a writer can do to step out of their comfort zone; switch POVs, switch genres, or just write about something you normally wouldn’t. The important thing is to switch things up! You’ll find yourself a better writer for it in the long run. 

As always, the newest links to Running the Gauntlet and The Medal are up.  Read them and let me know what you think. I value all input. Don’t forget to vote. Both books are currently in the top 30 for jukepop and I’d really like to stay there, you know, for bragging rights. Until next week,

Wayne!

Leave a Reply

